3Doodler Plane

3Doodler Johnny 5 John Deere Plane Geometric trial

3Doodling The Next Step

Where did we leave off… in my last post I talked about my first doodles with my new 3Doodler pen by Wobble Works. I had started using non branded 3mm ABS filament from a spool and was considering more complicated builds. I had seen a Triplane build on the 3Doodler blog website and wanted to do something similar. So jumping right in with couple of free hand doodles of wing ribs, I realised I needed to either draw some decent plans or find some pre-drawn plans online.

Balsa Wood Inspiration

Looking at the model on the 3Doodler blog it reminded me of a balsa wood plane my dad brought me as a child. I loved making that plane, cutting and glueing the balsa wood hour after hour. I all but completed it, getting to the point where I was supposed to cover the plane with tissue paper ready for real flight. I don’t know what happened to that old balsa wood plane but I loved it dearly and it probably suffered from over play, ending up in the bin. So I think it would be a good idea to build a new one with the 3Doodler, perhaps build it well enough to mount a modern RC motor in it and see if it can take flight! That would be something wouldn’t it!

Trial Build Plane

It was quite a large plane I remember (or I was much smaller) so I will need to make sure I have enough of the right plastic for the job, I might have to experiment with PLA filament. I also want to make a trial build or two to hone my 3Doodler skills before I attempt to build a plane accurately enough to fly rather than plummet. Taking to the internet I found a site offering a large selection of plans, the majority of which seemed to be suitable for a 3Doodler build. I have even found one that looks similar to the plane of my childhood. Take a look for yourself, there is a spitfire in there which is very tempting. http://www.outerzone.co.uk/

Zlin 526 AS Akrobat

For my trial build I chose the Zlin 526 AS Akrobat  by Stephen Hales. Partly because it looks cool but mostly because it seemed simple enough for my first plane build with the 3Doodler.

Screen shot 2014-01-26 at 22.06.50

The Build

I decided to use a clear ABS filament for this as I had plenty and thought it would look cool. This may have been a mistake from a blogging point of view as its very difficult to see my work in the images below… but the finished plane does look cool which is of course the most important thing!

Having a decent amount of experience with the 3Doodler by now I knew roughly how I wanted to do this and set about tracing the components on to the paper plan I had printed out.

When I had the components for a wing I pealed them off the paper and then stuck them together using The 3Doodler nib to melt the two components together and extruding more ABS as necessary.

The first wing went together quite well so I was spurred on, working into the night suddenly taken over by a powerful desire to finish this thing in one go!

3Doodler Plane Build

I highly recommend getting something to hold parts of your 3Doodles steady when you are fixing them together, I picked up a Bresser Magnifier third Hand which is a pretty decent bit of kit and it helped a lot.

3Doodler Plane build

3Doodler Plane Build

3Doodler plane build finished Plane head on

I am very happy with the result, its not too distorted and I got a good amount of experience using a detailed plan with the 3Doodler. The larger the component then the more accurate you can be … or the less the errors matter! Careful when pealing off the paper as the doodle does sometimes stick a little too well.

The finished plane is only 14g and actually quite solid so I am thinking it might just be possible to build an air worthy plane on a larger scale. Who knows… we can only find out if we try and the name of my blog is MattBdreaming so I suppose the project is on topic for me. I might need some help though, perhaps its time to go knock on the metaphorical door of Oxford maker space and see if I can get someone interested in this project. I had best also do a bit of web surfing to find out if someone has already done it.

If you want to see how this goes then please follow my blog or drop me a line if you are thinking of a similar project. Lets see if we cant get a 3Doodled plane up in the air some time soon!.

Thanks for visiting, come again! 🙂

Follow me on twitter @MattBisHere

4 thoughts on “3Doodler Plane

  1. Pingback: 3Doodling | MattBdreaming

  2. I love this post and really enjoyed reading through your journey. There is something very nostalgic about this – reminds me of putting together airfix models as a kid, except you’re actually making the parts as well!! I can well imagine working through the night too once I got started on a project like this. This kind of technology your imagination really is the only limit. Can’t wait to see what the 3Doodler creates next 🙂

  3. Pingback: 3Doodler Dog | MattBdreaming

  4. Pingback: 3Doodler Plane – Progress | MattBdreaming

Leave a Reply

