3D Printed Sand Buildings

The Sand Buildings Are Coming 

I have been writing about printing solar updraft towers in the desert from sand in the desert for a while and I am very excited to see the concept progress even if its not me that progressed it!

See my original concepts here 

3D Printing in construction 

My original page  (scroll down half way)

I envisage large, automated, solar powered machines left in the desert to churn away, processing the sand and forming it into energy producing structures capable of water capture, purification and hydrogen production. All with the added benefit of slowly turning the desert into arable land.  (TED This is my wish)

Evolo 2014 Skyscraper Competition Winners

These guys have gone further and produced some trulyy amazing looking concepts, Sand Babel is a solar-powered 3D printed skyscraper built from desert sand by Chinese designers Qiu Song, Kang Pengfei, Bai Ying, Ren Nuoya, Guo Shen

Go to Evolo and see SAND BABEL

Sand Babel

Please follow me on twitter @MattBisHere for this and other stuff

Leave a Reply

